DFNY Focus on: DFNY

(Daily Film Watcher, Kanji aficionado)

Q:   Which film do you love that might surprise people?

DFNY: I have a weak spot for the 1973 musical remake of Lost Horizon, I know every word to every song (by Burt Bacharach & Hal David) – it’s one of the first films I remember seeing in the theater, I remember having a lot of fun listening to the songs with my sister and her friends.  To this day, I can’t experience a snowstorm without thinking of the lyrics to “If I Could Go Back”….!

Q:   If you could pair up any two actors/actresses, living or dead, which two would it be & what kind of film?

DFNY: I always thought that an older Victor Mature with a F.I.S.T.-era Sylvester Stallone would have made an awesome father-son 40’s gangster duo.

Q:  Which film has had the biggest impact on you personally, and why?

DFNY:  Easily, The Karate Kid (1984) – I went to a karate dojo the next day (rather, my 15 year old self was  driven there by my mother), and there began a course of study that would eventually lead me to Japan and a 16-plus year study of the language and culture.

Q: If you could have one prop from any film what would it be?

DFNY: Kirk’s copy of A Tale of Two Cities from Star Trek 2: The Wrath of Khan

Q: Is there any subject matter which you would not make a film about?

DFNY: A day in the life of a bank Compliance Officer (my day job)

DFNY can be found Tweeting about flicks at:  @DailyFlickNY

#DFNYFocus is a new series from Daily Flick NY focusing on the personal film tastes of Screenwriters, Directors, Producers and other individuals working in the film industry

Leave a Reply

