#DFNYFocus On: Nicole Alonso – Actress / Producer

(Crawl or Die Trilogy, Screen)

Q: Which film do you love that might surprise people?

NA: I’m not sure it would be surprising as most people who know me know I love all types of movies. I’m obsessed with movies. But, I am a huge fan of Bette Midler and I love the movie The Rose.

Q: If you could pair up any two actors/actresses, living or dead, which two would it be & what kind of film?

NA: Honestly – myself and Daniel Day Lewis. I hope it’s not selfish to list myself, but the man is a genius and one of my biggest inspirations as an actor. I’d LOVE to work with him on anything, but most likely some sort of drama and preferably directed by my partner in all things, Oklahoma Ward.

Q:  Which film has had the biggest impact on you personally, and why?
NA: The Original Alien by Ridley Scott. I’m ashamed to admit I didn’t watch it until I was older, but that was the first time, as an actor and as a woman, that I could really relate to a woman in a film and feel empowered by her. She wasn’t some glossy female version of Rambo – she was very real. She was tough but still feminine – she still had fears, but she overcame them. I had always wanted to be in films, but I knew after watching her that I wanted to play women like Ripley. It’s one of the things that lead me to playing TANK in Crawl or Die. Honorable mentions, however, would have to go to Sarah Connor in T2 and Clarice Starling in Silence of the Lambs for very similar reasons.
Q: If you could have one prop from any film what would it be?
NA: Any prop of Ripley’s from Alien! Her jumpsuit would be awesome – or her gun.
Q: Is there any subject matter which you would not make a film about?
NA: This is a tough question. I feel there are no subject matters that are off limits – it would really depend on the presentation. There are definitely subject matters I wouldn’t want to glorify – but if it was something that needed a light shown on it to help in some way, I’d definitely be open to that. Movies can make a difference in the world – if in no other way than making people aware of something they might not be aware of already. If I could be in something that changed the world for the better – even if it was in a small way – that would be amazing.
#DFNYFocus is a new series from Daily Flick NY focusing on the personal film tastes of Screenwriters, Directors, Producers and other individuals working in the film industry
Leave a Reply

