#DFNYFocus On: Sara Logan Hofstein – Writer / Producer / Director

(Refuge, The Assignment 2.0, L’Engagement 1.0, Killing Uncle Roman)

Q:   Which film do you love that might surprise people?
A:    I’m a huge geek and I’ll watch practically anything, from action films to rom-coms, but the film that I love that I think surprises most people is Steven Spielberg’s Hook.  I love his take on Peter Pan and how he references things from the original novelization that are not really touched upon in the famous adaptations, like the Broadway musical or the Disney animation

Q:   If you could pair up any two actors/actresses, living or dead, which two would it be & what kind of film?
A:    My favorite male actor is Geoffrey Rush, and Natalie Dormer is one of my favorite female actresses. I would love to see them together in a film, perhaps in a father-daughter drama.

Q:  Which film has had the biggest impact on you personally, and why?
A:   Baz Luhrmann’s Moulin Rouge! is the film that has impacted me the most by far. I come from a film family—my father is a cinematographer, my mother is a stuntwoman—and so I’ve seen many films, but this was the film that changed my perception of what film is to what film could be. It was released in 2001, when I was still a child, and after fifteen years it’s still my favorite film. I had never seen cinematography utilized like that before; it made me realize that films are an escape from our reality and that anything is possible in film.

Q: If you could have one prop from any film what would it be?
A: Had I been asked this question fifteen years ago, I would have said Wendy Darling’s copy of Peter and Wendy from Hook. Her book is the original edition from 1911. About ten years ago, after scouring the internet looking for the same copy, I found it and bought it.  I also once almost bought an Underwood typewriter in working condition that was the same type as Christian’s from Moulin Rouge!, but I felt the purchase to be impractical.

Beyond that, it’s a tough question. I love sci-fi and fantasy films a lot, so it would be hard to choose. A Star Wars lightsaber? A Tron identity disc? A Rocketeer jetpack? A DeLorean? A wand? I have as much difficulty answering this question as if you had asked me what my favorite film costume is.

Q: Is there any subject matter which you would not make a film about?
A: Ironically, considering my film Refuge, the Holocaust. I don’t watch Holocaust or World War II films. They’re too stressful and sad for me.

Sara Logan Hofstein’s IMDB page

Euro Pacific Films site

#DFNYFocus is a new series from Daily Flick NY focusing on the personal film tastes of Screenwriters, Directors, Producers and other individuals working in the film industry

One thought on “#DFNYFocus On: Sara Logan Hofstein – Writer / Producer / Director

Leave a Reply

