#DFNYFocus On: Diana Galimzyanova – Writer / Director / Editor

(Diana Galimzyanova is a writer and director based in Moscow, Russia. Her four award-winning short films have been accepted by more than thirty five festivals in thirteen countries)

Q:   Which film do you love that might surprise people?
DG: Koyaanisqatsi, not exactly the kind of movie I usually watch and like, I’m not a documentary fan at all, but it’s just a super powerful film.

Q:   If you could pair up any two actors/actresses, living or dead, which two would it be & what kind of film?
DG: Burt Lancaster and Katharine Hepburn starring in a film noir by Hitchcock. And thanks to this question I’ve learned that they actually did star in a movie together, although it wasn’t a film noir. Now I need to find it and watch it.

Q:  Which film has had the biggest impact on you personally, and why?
DG: The film that had a real impact on me is not a film at all but The Simpsons television show. I can’t even measure that impact; they basically brainwashed me and made me the person I am today. The Simpsons used to be the only window to the world I had back when I was a teenage cancer survivor suffering from depression. I was in social isolation, some days I just watched the same episodes of the Simpsons over and over all day long. I’ve seen every episode at least five times, even listened to all the audio comments.  Btw, there’s actually the Simpsons movie so technically I’m not cheating here.

Q: If you could have one prop from any film what would it be?
DG: Norman Bates’ Mother, it’s a prop, right? Also one of the birds from The Birds. The cigarette lighter from the Strangers on the train. Anything from any Hitchcock film. Also the cane from Citizen Kane.

Q: Is there any subject matter which you would not make a film about?
DG: The day in a life of a butcher, when he’s the protagonist who’s just doing his regular job at a slaughterhouse.

#DFNYFocus is a new series from Daily Flick NY focusing on the personal film tastes of Screenwriters, Directors, Producers and other individuals working in the film industry